The questions that no one likes being asked by dying to know the answer of others…

22 Aug
Image
So you know those times, when you get asked the questions you really don’t want to be answer. Questions like….

When are you getting engaged?
When is the wedding?
Are you going to buy a house?
When are you having a baby?
When the next baby? 
When are you moving back to your hometown?

So I came up to the conclusion that life is full of questions. It doesn’t matter if you know the person you are asking well or not, in actual fact I find I get asked more by strangers than I do by my closest friends.

In all honestly though we don’t like answering the questions,we are all wondering the answers to the same questions for others. 

This topic dawned on me, while I was sitting in the social security office waiting patiently for my number to be call when this elderly lady started talking to me. Do I have talk to me on my forehead or something? I think so, in any case- 

Well she started to tell me that she got married for the second time and that lead into asking why I was waiting, and then it resulted in we were in the ss office for the same reason to change our name. 

It funny as after it was determined we were there for the same reason, that continue the conversation into a lot of questions- where are you from? How long have you been married? How long have you been in the USA for? etc 

Then the question I get asked weekly, almost daily: 

 
” When are you having a baby? You know you are not as young as you use to be”  
 
It was if the women thought she knew me or something and was giving me advise from a grandparent perspective. 

That is the questions of the hour. I think as I turn 30 in October the ultimate statement said to me is ” your biological clock is ticking”

But I mean is it? I mean is it really? They say 40 is the new 30. I mean Halle Berry is having a baby a 46. 

Well I thought about that as I waited and then my number was called B229. Finally after a 2 hour wait it was my time. It felt like I had won bingo. So after 10 minutes had passed, I presented all my documents and my name was changed, I stood up , pushed in my chair and was about to leave when…. 

On the way out the elderly women said out loud across the room,in front of about 100 people, in the waiting room.  

” Good Luck with procreating, don’t leave it too long”  

Then a women in the waiting room said “Amen sister” Another lady said and pointed to her wrist ” Tick tick, tick” 

In that moment, I actually had nothing to say, not one single thought, word, nothing came out, It was like I wanted to say something but nothing. So I said the only thing I could think of 

 
” My uterus is good, I have time, have a nice day, bye” 

I mean what was I thinking, that is all that I could get out. My uterus is good. I mean seriously. What the hell, what about thanks or time will tell or will do. But instead I said ” My uterus is good” like they needed to know that. I mean one small boy said ” Mummy what is a uterus?” It is nearly as bad as telling a child there is no Father Christmas. 

I was shocked and found it very funny, not only was it announced to the whole room that I have sex with my Husband, they now are thinking and pondering my breeding life cycle not to mention my uterus. 

I think that is a moment I will remember for a long time. 

 
What will tomorrow bring, I ask myself…

2 Responses to “The questions that no one likes being asked by dying to know the answer of others…”

  1. Monika August 23, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Wow. Just…wow. I do quite love your response though!

  2. Monika Willis August 24, 2013 at 10:16 am #

    I think I have that sign on my head too! And the uterus thing is such a you thing to say! made me laugh.

Leave a Reply

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

The Philippines Like A Native

The View From Down Here

Shuffle With Confidence

If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

Cô Kerri

A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

Distant Drumlin

Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

The Expat Loop

A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

