Australian food- oh how I miss thee!

30 Aug

20130830-103851.jpg

From yummy pies, sausages rolls and farmer union ice coffee to lamingtons Tim tams and Vegemite. Australia food is like nothing else.

When you start dreaming of pies you realize you have a problem.

Food in California is good and yummy but you can’t beat the Aussie food goodness.

So how do I beat this I ask myself? Well I think it is time to embrace my inner chef and make some Aussie food.

So with that said the first recipe will be the meat pie. Not something I have made before but will give it ago. I will put pictures up of the complete product.

The other thing I miss is Australia wine. My favorite wine is the Sauvignon Blanc. I love nothing more than a crisp, delicious s. Blanc from the Adelaide Hill. My favorite is Shaw & Smith. This type of grape wine can be found in north California but it doesn’t have the same taste and flavor. So if anyone has some California wine suggestions let me know.

Today is the start of the labour day weekend so that means the weekend is upon us.

Well until I make pies and find wine. I will have to stick to bubbly and pretzels.

Happy Labour Day weekend!

One Response to “Australian food- oh how I miss thee!”

  1. Carolyn August 31, 2013 at 12:49 am #

    My sister Betty and I often talk about how much we loved the Australian meat pie when we lived in Australia as children. Today I am gluten-free…so I should figure out a pie crust for that lovely pie. Cousin Dottie was the master of many other pies. Look forward to the recipe. xo

Leave a Reply

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

The Philippines Like A Native

The View From Down Here

Shuffle With Confidence

If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

Cô Kerri

A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

Distant Drumlin

Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

The Expat Loop

A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

