Don’t know anyone in the room!

13 Sep

20130913-115624.jpg

So being a expat, as I have said, a number of time, you are constantly out of your comfort zone meeting new people, networking and making new friends.

With that said I am normally with an existing friend, very rare I am flying solo. But tonight I am going just that.

I am going to a expat networking event, where I know no one, I am the only Australian and I am out of my comfort zone.

So why am I putting myself through this I ask myself?

Well it is a way of meeting other expats, doing something new and I guess getting out of my comfort zone.

So when I walk into the event tonight and I look out not knowing anyone what do I do.

Well first I get a glass of wine. Wine is always good, loosens yourself up and good conversation starter.

Then I look out to see if anyone else is flying solo and I go talk to them. So a good conversation starter would be ” Hi, I am Sarah” maybe then ” How did you hear about this event or where are you from?”

So wish me luck for tackling a networking event on my own!

Here goes nothing!

Leave a Reply

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

The Philippines Like A Native

The View From Down Here

Shuffle With Confidence

If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

Cô Kerri

A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

Distant Drumlin

Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

The Expat Loop

A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

