No regrets

18 Sep

20130918-163856.jpg

Ever regretted something?

Ever wished you had keeped your mouth shut?

Ever wished you hadn’t kissed that guy?

Ever wanted to take back something or a moment?

I think we have all wanted one of the above at some point in our life!

This morning I spoke to one of my dearest friends Monika ( fellow guest blogger) we talked for hours on all different topics, as we do, but what we spoke about specifically is being a expat.

I am fortunate to have been a overseas expat 3 times. Monika is a expat living in Paris. We talked about being a expat, advice we would give other expats and making expat friends.

What I realized from that conversation is I have learnt a lot over the past 8 years and have done things differently each time I moved back to California. Not regrets as such but rather lessons learned.

I am a big believer of no regrets and no limits. You can’t change time, you cant go back and you certainly can’t change things that have happened. But what you can do is improve them, make a change and live each day as if it is your last.

So below are my 5 top lessons I have learnt from being a expat.

1- Network– a network goes a long way. Look at Facebook, started with two friends at Harvard University and now has over 550 million users. Network it up, use the contacts you have, you never know you might get a job or join a hobbie group or even create a successful company through your network.

2- Meet new people and fellow expats-make friends with other expats. When I miss home I meet up with other Aussies, play netball, eat Aussie food and the homesickness goes away.

3- Bucket List– make a bucket list of things you want to do and where you want to travel.

4- Live each experience differently– each time I move back to a place,be it San Francisco or Adelaide, I make sure to do it differently. Live in a different area, do a different job, discover new things. Always move forward.

5- Make the effort. You get Out what you put in! Get out of your comfort zone, make the effort to try new things, meet new people.

Never regret anything as at I time, it was exactly what you wanted!

No regrets!

Leave a Reply

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

The Philippines Like A Native

The View From Down Here

Shuffle With Confidence

If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

Cô Kerri

A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

Distant Drumlin

Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

The Expat Loop

A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

