Homesickness- just creeps up on you!

24 Sep

20130924-100834.jpg

Homesickness is something you can’t predict, you don’t anticipate it and comes around quickly.

Homesickness isn’t like a cold or gastro, it is a knot in your stomach, a ache in your heart and a underlying urge to jump on a plane and go back to your homeland.

I have had homesickness many times, the difference with this move is I didn’t get it. I have gone 7 weeks and all good. I thought this time was different. I am older, more mature, it won’t happen.

Then the day came. Yesterday I was officially homesick.

The funny thing is there was no reason for it. Had a lovely weekend- my birthday party, caught with friends, spend time with hubby and signed up for Broadway Chorus. Then I was driving to target and all of a sudden I missed home. Strange.

Was it because I missed my Mum’s 60th birthday?
Was it because I had emails and messages from friends back home?
Was it because I was listening to Cold Chisel?

Maybe it was all the above. So I thought what to do.

Well why not cheer myself up with shopping, a movie and dinner with friends.

Today the homesickness has gone and I am feeling better. I guess what I have realized is a part of me will always miss home, my family and friends. I can’t beat it, I can’t change it. I just have to embrace it.

So this blog is dedicated to my loved one back in Australia. I think of you often, miss you always and you are always in my heart!

2 Responses to “Homesickness- just creeps up on you!”

  1. Carolyn September 25, 2013 at 12:44 am #

    Sarah….some of us have many homes as you do now!

    When people ask me where I am from I always say I have 3 “homeland” roots….I am from California (born in WA state), I spent some of my growing-up years in my grandfather’s homeland Australia, I spent my teens in Colorado. I am always amazed what an imprint those 3 homes had for me. I have been back in California for years….and yet I still feel my roots in Australia and Colorado calling!

    I love your blog!

  2. Monika Willis September 30, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    Cold Chisel, defiantly Cold Chisel, does it every time!

Leave a Reply

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

The Philippines Like A Native

The View From Down Here

Shuffle With Confidence

If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

Cô Kerri

A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

Distant Drumlin

Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

The Expat Loop

A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

