When being a expat becomes a life decision…..

10 Oct

20131010-091057.jpg

At what point does a expat turn into a permanent resident?

Yes, it will depend on visa, green card etc.

But at what point do you chose to not return back to your homeland?

This topic came to light after I met a number of expats who have lived her for 8+ years or who are applying for the green card. I asked them why the decision to make USA there home, there response- family ( married an American), work opportunities and life style.

Now I truly believe Australia is the best place on earth! Full of wonderful landscape, culture and wildlife. But it has become clear that more and more Aussies are moving oversea for work opportunity. Out of my friends we have 3 in London, 1 in Paris, 1 in Canada, 1 in Hong Kong and 2 in the USA.

When did job opportunity turn into moving abroad to advance your career?

I never did the UK thing. You know go on a working holiday visa and work and travel around the UK before the age of 30. To be honest I am not sure why I didn’t, I think it was because there was more opportunity in the USA.

USA is our current home but unsure if it will be our permanent home. For now it is time to enjoy the time we have here.

As you would of read from previous posts, I have moved a lot with in Australia and the USA, so I make home where I am living with hubby. I try not to plan long term as there is no way of knowing where we will be in 3-5 years time.

The USA are full of Aussies, most of our friends are Aussies and I help organize Aussie events. It means I don’t miss Australia as much. I miss my family and friends but in some small way being around Aussies helps that. At least they laugh at my jokes as the Americans just look at me with a blank face.

The funny thing is the Aussies who I have met who have lived here long term are the most Aussie people I have ever met. They embrace being Aussie in everything they do- play Aussie sport, attend Aussie events and listen to Aussie music.

With 17,000 Aussie expat in the Bay Area along you are bound to embrace your inner Aussie- ness.

So though expats often move abroad or interstate for work they take with them there Aussie spirit which makes them in Aussie.

Food for thought for today

20131010-091343.jpg

Leave a Reply

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

The Philippines Like A Native

The View From Down Here

Shuffle With Confidence

If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

Cô Kerri

A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

Distant Drumlin

Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

The Expat Loop

A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

