Am I speaking English?

21 Oct

20131021-113355.jpg

Am i speaking English? A question I asked myself daily.

I ask for:

Diet coke- I get a confused looked

Non fat cappuccino wet- I end up with a cappuccino with whip

Fries- ends up as garlic fries

Sandwiches- get a burger

Put it in the boot- they tried to put it in my shoe

I am speaking English yet they don’t understand me.

A few days ago I went to pottery barn. One of my old time favorite shops. With many of our friends and family having babies I went to buy a few gifts.

I said, I need these two presents wrapped separately, flat, so I can send them to Australia, in unisex paper. The lady looked at my with a confused look, so I repeated myself and she said come back in half hour and it will be complete.

So I went off to have coffee and came back to:

Well… I thought I was getting two present flat wrapped in beige paper but nope it was two giant boxes wrapped one in pink and one in blue. All I thought was wtf?

I could not bring myself to say anything ( they wouldn’t of understood anyway) so instead I walked away, got in the car and thought. What the heck?

Some times it blows my mind as to if they don’t understand what I am saying?
What do they think I am saying?
What does a Aussie accent sound like to a foreigner?

Well time will tell, if I start losing my Aussie accent or if people understand me more.

All I know is I am speaking English and when I was asked earlier in the week.what language do you speak in Australia?” that just topped the week off. I mean seriously!

Food for thought!

3 Responses to “Am I speaking English?”

  1. CarolynCarolyn October 21, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    Ahh… I get it. Once when I visited Frank and Dottie in Geelong, I wasn’t getting what Frank was saying…it was indeed English…I just didn’t get all the words. We all broke out laughing when Frank said, “Caroline (for Carolyn) you aren’t getting this are you!?”

  2. Tukaram November 3, 2013 at 3:10 am #

    Some of it could be your accent, some may be phrasing. I understand the 2 presents wrapped in unisex paper (had not heard the term but understand it in context – as an American I would have gender neutral). I don’t know what wrapped flat means. But I would have no problem asking for clarification.

    In the US diet Coke is diet Coke – so that should have worked for you? But I live in the Philippines now and you would have to say coke light. My problem is that a large coke request will get you a coke light (diet). I have to say upsize coke to get a large coke. People don’t listen well, so they hear part of what you say and fill in the rest with laziness.

  3. peachtree awning window replacement parts September 19, 2014 at 2:58 pm #

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after browsing through a few of the
    articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I found it and I’ll bbe book-marking it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

The Philippines Like A Native

The View From Down Here

Shuffle With Confidence

If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

Cô Kerri

A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

Distant Drumlin

Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

The Expat Loop

A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

