How forward is too forward?

24 Oct

Image

Have you had those moments when a guy approaches you and you are thinking- he is hot (check), he is sophisticated ( check), he is successful (check) and then he opens his mouth and you think yes I would like a drink and then he speaks and says 
 
“Did you just get hit in the head with a baseball? Because I think you’re swell!”
 
At the point the only thing that goes through you mind is WTF?! I mean really what was he thinking. All romance is out the window, all attraction is gone and that drink that would be a hell NO!
 
You think Sarah just made this up as if it would happen but I can honestly say it did happen, in fact 17 minutes ago to be exact. Yes I am married and no I am not interested in anyone, but I do live vicariously through my single girlfriends. But on this occasion all I thought was how forward is too forward?
 
A few friends and I were at a networking event last night, a room full men with less women. It was 3 Aussie and a English gal and it was like dogs on heat. Was it our accent? Was it our looks? What it that they were despite? What ever it was , it was an experience. The fact that 3 of us were married and none of us were interested was beside the point. It was a networking event for start ups not dating 101. One of my girlfriends said back in English I didn’t have much luck dating, then I get married moved to the USA and bingo I am a magnet for men. Why is that? Then it dawned on us, American men are more forward.
 
My girlfriends and I talked about different pick up lines and experience from a guy on the street staying” I like your hips”  to ” You butt is like Kim Kardashian , move that thing” to ” Damn your beautiful” to “ Light up my bedroom tonight” Regardless of the pick up line being good, bad or ugly at least they are giving it a go.
 
The thing for me is I don’t really like it.  If I was single a pick up line would not float my boat. How about just “Hi, how are you? Or can I buy you a drink?”. How forward is too forward?
 
Single gals of the world unite, lets get rid of bad pick up lines and start finding our prince charming.
 
2 Responses to “How forward is too forward?”

  1. lovethedatinggame October 24, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

    I agree with what you’ve said. But I think the cheesy pickup lines is just a way to disguise a lot of men’s fears of approaching women 🙂

Leave a Reply

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

The Philippines Like A Native

The View From Down Here

Shuffle With Confidence

If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

Cô Kerri

A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

La Vale and Her World

La Vale and Her World is a Travel Blog. I also love traveling and sharing. Travelling is a Life Experience, which also means new recipes, new styles, culture and so on… you’ll find all my love for traveling and what it entails in this blog!

Distant Drumlin

Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

The Expat Loop

A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

