Expat to local!

17 Mar

So today I was asked the question I get asked on a regular basis? Well three questions in fact.

Question 1- where are you from?

Questions 2- how long have you been here?

Questions 3- how long are you staying?

I replied and said, Australia, 7 months, this time, but almost 4 years all up and 3 years.

The lady replied and said 4 years you are a local now.

It got me thinking when do you turn from expat or out of tower to local?

When does that change occur? Is it losing part of your ascent, becoming familiar with the area, embracing the community or is it the feeling of home.

I have moved a lot, lived in 3 states in Australia, moved to California 3 times, went to multiple schools and so where is my home? Well that is the big questions.

Moving a lot makes you adapt and gives you the skills to make a home anywhere. I always thought a place/ destination was my home, but I am learning that it is where my husband and I are together, where ever that might be around the world.

So am I a local Californian? Well I am not so sure about that but I do love where we live, our expat family and most of all being together.

We are Australian, always are and always will be!

But as they as they say home is where the heart is!

20140317-111604.jpg

2 Responses to “Expat to local!”

  1. lisa November 10, 2014 at 2:06 am #

    Hi,
    My name is Lisa and I was wondering if you had any advice as an aussie living in SF? I am an Melbournian planning to move there with my boyfriend but I am completely new to the whole living abroad thing but I am struggling to find information that is relevant and current.

    Please Help!

    • sarahjuliestone November 10, 2014 at 3:55 am #

      Lisa, thanks for your request. I plan to write a blog post this week on tips for expats moving to the Bay Area.

Leave a Reply

Foreign Sanctuary

Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

The Philippines Like A Native

The View From Down Here

Shuffle With Confidence

If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

Cô Kerri

A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

Distant Drumlin

Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

The Expat Loop

A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

