Trailing spouse- trailing mother- travel widow wife 

16 Jun

        

      I am often asked what do you do, why are you in the USA, where is your husband and the question I am asked almost daily how do you cope with your husbands travel. 

      A reader of mine ask me to write a blog about how to cope with having a husband that travels. To that reader, this blog post is for you. 
      More and more people are traveling for work, both interstate and overseas. Some travel a little and others travel a lot. 

      I grew up with a Dad that travelled a lot in fact he commuted from Perth to the eastern states weekly. My Mum made every effort to make a happy, positive household. I can now start to understand what she went through as a mother and what a truly amazing job she did. 

      When I meet my husband, little did I know that he too would travel a lot. I have been with my husband for 11 years and over that time his travel has increased slowly until the last 5 years where it has become more often. 

      Having a husband that travels is far from easy, especially now with a newborn. But we make it work and enjoy spending time even more when we are together. 

      Over the years I have gained tips and tricks of being what I like to call a travel widow wife. A wife who is alone while there husband travels for work.
      So here our my tips for how to cope with a traveling husband

      1- Keep in contact- messages, viber, FaceTime, calls, whatever it takes to keep in contact on a daily basis. 

      2- Keep busy- plan out your days, while he is way- meet up with friends, work out, do chores, what ever your interests are ,fill your time with your favorite things to do.

      3-Schedule – it is crucial to plan. If I want my husband at an event or appointment then I plan around his schedule. We have what we call “black out day” where it is a must he is here and he tries to work his travel around that. 

      4- Communicate – communicate your thoughts, plans, daily thoughts with him. Make sure you include him on decisions and daily goings so he feels apart of the family. 

      5- Flexibility- flexibility is key. My husband travel changes all the time and it is key for me to be flexible and not to take it personally. 

      6- Support– ensure you have support around you- friends and family. Our friends are our family as we are expats living overseas. However I call my parents every day and they can FaceTime with our daughter. They are always there to support me and give guidance. 

      Every day I learn I new tip or trick and I never stop getting advice and support from fellow mothers. Being a mother, expat and a travel widow wife, is still new and I seek help when needed. 

      Enjoy every moment with your husband and make those moments special. Plan trips, date night, family outings and enjoy the ride! 

        

      One Response to “Trailing spouse- trailing mother- travel widow wife ”

      1. lavaleandherworld September 10, 2015 at 6:59 am #

        I know what you are talking about 🙂

      Leave a Reply

            Foreign Sanctuary

      Lead and Live a Life Less Ordinary

      The Philippines Like A Native

      The View From Down Here

      Shuffle With Confidence

      If the radio didn't suck, it would probably sound like this.

      Bucket List Publications

      Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

      Skein Lane - IN THE LOOP

      Let's knit on! For many of us, it's a way of life and this blog is about sharing that experience....and a way to share the experiences of Skein Lane Knitters. I love knitting and it is indeed a way of life for me.

      Cô Kerri

      A hobbit's adventure teaching in Vietnam

      Distant Drumlin

      Returning to the UK after living in India and China. Opening my eyes to the details of life back home.

      The Expat Loop

      A expat journey from Australia to the USA and back!

      The Daily Post

      The Art and Craft of Blogging

      The WordPress.com Blog

      The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

